Day 3- my J.O.B

When my husband and I found out I was pregnant, we just assumed I would return to work. Staying at home was just not an option. Not necessarily because we needed my income, but I did not think I was cut out to do it. For as long as I can remember, I have been career and achievement minded… at least according to worldly standards. Little by little, God took away opportunities that would have fueled that spark in me. Now I see why. If I had taken one of the numerous career choices I aspired to attain, I would have never been in a position to quit my 9-5 job.

I assumed, after maternity leave I would return to work. I did. My sweet baby was 10 weeks old. The evenings were chaotic to say the least. My husband and I were so unsettled in every area of our lives. Then, the baby got sick. I prayed and cried and blamed myself. I was still at work. During this time, I was tossing around the idea of staying at home. Could I do it? Could we afford it? How would this work? What if I quit my job? Then one Sunday, the message at church was about steps of faith.

On paper, quitting my job makes no sense. When does God ever call us to something that makes perfect sense? My husband and I both agreed this was the right step, no matter how hard. So, there we went, stepping out blindly, praying for God to work out the details.

Soon after I put in my notice, my husband began doing some contract employee work in addition to his 9-5 job. That additional income would make up some of the difference. He has continued that work. God provided when we stepped out. Sometimes I am amazed at how easy that works. As if we should expect less from God. Yes, we reign in on our expenses more than we did. Yes, we have to rely on God to make sense of what we don’t understand. But, we love the reward.

Tomorrow, our little guy has his 12 month check up. I was thinking about all the amazing skills he has mastered in the last few months and how much more advanced he is than…. well everyone. 🙂 I’m so proud of him and his little brain. I truly believe that he has developed his motor, verbal, problem solving, and other skills because I am able to give him one on one attention.

Someone, knowing that I was staying home with my child asked me, “Have you decided what you’re going to do when you grow up.”  It still burns my biscuits. I know EXACTLY what I’m going to do and what I’m doing. I am being a mom, and a wife, and taking care of the home I have been given. I have worldly achievements. I had great grades in HS, scored high on every standardized test they ever threw at me, graduated from college, and volunteered with plenty of organizations. At the end of the day, my current occupation is my greatest achievement. Not only am I serving my husband and child, but God.

“God does not call the equipped. He equips the called”. I understand that now. I would never in a million years thought I had the patience and homemaker skills to do this job. But God provides.

I could still be working and we would all be perfectly fine. I know that. People do it every day. My parents did it. But we would not be satisfied outside of what God wants for our family.

So today, and every day, I am thankful God has provided a way for me to be a stay at home mom.

Leave a Reply

