My One Word— Care

I picked my word for 2011…. Care

If you have no idea what I’m talking about…. click here!

In order to pick a word, we search ourselves: What kind of person do I want to be at the end of the year? What sin pattern can I just not shake? After exhausting a pretty good list of things I need to “fix” this year, I narrowed it down to one category to pick my word.

If you don’t know me, like really know me, this may come as a surprise (or not). Mercy is not one of my spiritual gifts.

I have always written off that I was just born this way. I am the queen of giving out reality checks, which doesn’t really get me too far in the “gentle and quiet spirit” category. 1 Peter 3 :4

For this year, I don’t want to just be more merciful. I want to learn to love people like God loves them. I thought about the word, love.  I don’t just want to love though. I would fail at this one because I can never love like God does.  I wanted to better express the love I am capable of expressing. It’s one thing to say that you love someone or love others. It calls you to action when you are going to care for someone or others. You have to love them. You have to show them mercy. You have to be unconditional.

Saying that I’m just not merciful or caring and writing it off as the way I am is wrong. That’s how I am in the flesh. Jesus overcame the flesh so I don’t have to just be this way. His Spirit that lives in me CAN and WILL take hold of me and transform me to be more like Him. I am not allowed to give myself a free pass on this any longer. Galatians 5:13-26

Ironically, this word was bouncing around my mind before the message at church on Sunday. Who am I kidding… ironically? No, God knew what He was doing. Mike, our pastor, challenged us that our life change is not meant to make us a better person, but to impact the city where you are planted. Care for the people of this city!

Care is a pretty big word too. If I really put forth the effort into this word this year, it will affect many areas in my life.

My marriage: I want to care for my husband. Not just take care of him when he’s sick, but really care. Care about his feelings, wants and needs. Care about his day, even if I think mine has been worse. Care for his thoughts. Care and lift him up in prayer.

My little monster: I want to take care of my child. Again, not just feed him and clean up after him. I want to care for his growing and developing little mind. Care for the things I do now that will start patterns for how he will be later. Care about being a better mom and him being a well-rounded adult. Care for his personality. Care about his salvation.

My circle of influence: I have good friends and family. Sometimes I don’t cultivate those relationships like I should. Sometimes I stick to my circle too much to cultivate other relationships. I want to open my reach of people I care for. I want to step outside my comfort zone. This is also going to mean forgiving some people and really embracing a way to care for them.

Myself: I need to start caring for myself. My health, my desires, my spiritual growth. With all these people to take care of 🙂 I’m going to need a stronger relationship with the Healer, Comforter and Price of Peace. I cannot expect to go into this alone. I will fail, miserably.

For 2011, I want to CARE. I pray that God gives me everything I need to care for and care about everyone and everything He places in my path. A caring person is nurturing, attentive, protective, loving, accommodating, friendly,
affectionate and tenderhearted. I hope I can make a solid effort at being that person.

Leave a Reply

